Alumni Awards Overview

Global Alumni Awards

Each year, the Alumni Association globally and locally recognizes select alumni for meritorious contributions to the community and/or profession, for community service and social justice, for demonstrating a high degree of loyalty and commitment to Webster, and for outstanding leadership and ongoing support of the University. Below you find a list of the global awards.

  • Distinguished Alumni Award
  • Outstanding Alumni Award
  • The Loretto Award
  • Mary Elizabeth Newell Award
  • Young Alumni Award

Alumni Leadership Awards

The Undergraduate Student Leadership Award will be presented to a graduating senior who has exhibited distinguished leadership throughout his/her academic years at Webster, and who has shared his/her talents with his/her specific department, the student body, and the surrounding community.

The Outstanding Graduate Student Award will be presented to a graduating student who has made distinguished contributions to his/her graduate program, the student body, or the surrounding community during enrollment at Webster University.

Bronwyn K. Mitterecker Alumni Award For Voluntary Service

The Webster Vienna Alumni Association annually honors an alumna or alumnus of Webster Vienna Private University who has made meritorious contributions to the community through his or her field of voluntary service or profession.

Eligible are all Webster Vienna alumni and students of the graduating class 2020.

The award recognizes the impact and service of an alum or alumna to the betterment of society. It was named in memory of Bronwyn K. Mitterecker, who served Webster Vienna Private University for over a decade.

The recipient of the award will be presented at the Commencement Ceremony on May 9, 2020, with a € 400 cash award.

Students, alumni, faculty, and staff are welcome to cast nominations for the Bronwyn K. Mitterecker Memorial Alumni Award. The deadline will be Friday, April 3, 2019.

Please send your nominations letters to the Office of the Director by e-mail: In the letter, please include a brief statement describing the reason why you believe the nominee should receive the award and list his/her activities and accomplishments which make a significant contribution to the community.

A committee will review all nominations and determine the winner.

Bronwyn K. Mitterecker Alumni Award presentation

The 2019 award was presented to Josipa Palac (B.A. 2011) at the Commencement ceremony 2019

Previous recipients include:

2019 Josipa Palac B.A. 2011
2014 Tolga Yazıcı B.A. 1995
2012 Anastasia Ioannidis M.A. 1984
2011 Kristina Hahsler B.A. 2002
2010 Selma Zahirović B.A. 2003
2009 Ingrid Schörghuber MBA 1996
2008 Jeanette Miller M.A. 1993
2007 Stefano Cantini M.A. 1994
2006 Roswitha Weinrich B.A. 1985