Advisory Board

The Webster Vienna Advisory Board currently consists of 15 members holding prominent business, political, or cultural positions in Austria. They advise the Campus Director on matters pertaining to visibility and reputation in regional business, cultural, and educational communities. The Advisory Board provides a complementary advisory function to the University Council’s control and monitoring functions in three meeting per year. Its members play a vital role in improving the competitiveness of the university’s academic programs by providing insights into market needs and external funding opportunities and thus fostering critical linkages between the university and the public and private sectors in Austria and the broader Central and Eastern European region.


Dr. Walter Schön
Chief Executive Officer, Schoen Aerospace Trading & Consulting (Committee Chairman)

HE Mohammad Sanusi Barkindo
Secretary General, Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC)
Mag. Michael Edelsbrunner
Country Executive, Citibank Europe plc, Austria Branch
Rudolf Hamp professional headshot KR Dipl. Ing. Rudolf Hamp
Vice Chair of the WVPU Advisory Board since 2011
Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board, HTI-AG
Mag. Liane Hirner (CPA)
Member of the Managing Board, Vienna Insurance Group
Rudolf Kemier professional headshot Ing. Rudolf Kemler
Senior Partner, Roland Berger GmbH
Prof. (FH) Dr. Christian Kreuzer
Managing Director, EY Advisory Services
Managing Director, Austrian Controller Institute
Norbert Lessing professional headshot Norbert Lessing
General Manager, Hilton Austria
Gernot Mittendorfer professional headshot Mag. Gernot Mittendorfer, MBA
Member of the Management Board, Erste Group Bank AG
Philippe Roodhooft
Executive Vice President Middle East and Growth Projects, Borealis
Freidrich Rödler professional headshot Prof. Dipl. Ing. Mag. Friedrich Rödler
Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Erste Group Bank AG

Mag. Monika Stoisser-Goehring
Chief Financial Officer, AT&S 


Biljana Weber
Vice President and Managing Director for HPE CERTA (Central Europe, Russia, Turkey, and Africa)


Mag. Dr. iur. Matthias Wechner
Member of the Executive Board - SORAVIA Equity
Chief Executive Officer - ADOMO Holding

Martin Winkler professional headshot

Dipl. Ing. Martin Winkler
Country Manager Austria, ORACLE


Emeritus Members

  • Prof. Dipl. Ing. Thomas Hintze, CEO Wananchi, Kenia; former Supervisory Board Chairman, UPC Austria
  • Mag. Harald Neumann, Chief Executive Officer, NOVOMATIC Group
  • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Bode, Former Gen.Manager,Glaxo Smith Kline GmbH; President of Pharma/Austria
  • Dr. Elizabeth Chopin,  Webster Vienna Private University Campus Director 1988-1999
  • Ambassador William C. Eacho III., U.S. Embassy Vienna
  • Theresa Firestone, Former Managing Director, Pfizer Corporation Austria Gesellschaft m.b.H.
  • Sabine Fleischmann, Board Member, IBM Austria
  • Lydia Goutas, MBA, Managing Partner of Lehner Executive Partners
  • Dr. Arthur E. Hirsh, Webster Vienna Private University Campus Director 2000-2015
  • Dipl. Ing. Edwin Kiefer, Former Chairman of the Supervisory Board, OPEL Austria  
  • Dr. Raoul Kneucker, Former Sektionschef at the Ministry for Education
  • Dr. Kurt Komarek, Former Rektor of the University of Vienna
  • Ing. Mag. Hans Lukits, Managing Director, BEWAG
  • Friederike Mautner Markhof, Mautner Markhof AG
  • Mag. Dr. Emil Mezgolits MA, Webster Class ‘82
  • Mag. Reinhard Möseneder, General Manager Austria & Switzerland, Colgate-Palmolive
  • Dr. Franz Markus Nestl, Senior Partner, GNBZ Graff Nestl Baurecht Rechtsanwälte
  • Mag. Georg Obermeier, formerly Managing Director, Microsoft Austria
  • Dr. Richard A. Paulson, General Manager CEE, Amgen GmbH
  • Dr. Horst Pirker, CEO, Styria Media Group AG
  • Dr. Gerhard Puttner, CEO, Dr. Puttner Communications
  • Hugh Ripps, Director Global Systems Mgmt. Center, Coca-Cola Company  
  • The Honorable Kathryn Walt Hall, Former U.S. Ambassador to Austria  
  • David Waller, Deputy Director General Vienna, International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
  • Mark Garrett, Chief Executive Officer, Borealis AG